Media Advisory Board

Qwoted’s Media Advisory Board is comprised of leading media professionals and academics. The directors of the board are volunteers and oversee the development of the Qwoted platform to ensure that the network conforms to ethical standards and consistently works to support the media. To join the advisory board, please reach out to

Lou Carlozo

As Qwoted’s first Editor in Chief, Lou oversees the standards committee, leads community-building efforts within journalism education, and acts as a resource to writers.

Caleb Silver

Caleb Silver is the Editor-in-chief of Investopedia. He serves on the Board of Governors and Executive Committee for the Society for Advancing Business Editing and Writing (SABEW).

Paulina Likos

Paulina Likos is an investing reporter with U.S. News & World Report covering the stock market, investing strategies, portfolio management and real estate investing.

Niraj Shah

Niraj Shah is the Markets Editor at Bloomberg Quint, India’s first digital live streaming business news service. Niraj heads the Markets band, and leads the editorial coverage of all things equities at BloombergQuint.

Larry Edelman

Larry Edelman is a financial columnist and associate editor of The Boston Globe.

Kalilah Reynolds

Kalilah Reynolds is an award-winning journalist covering business and finance in Jamaica. She received the Press Association of Jamaica Award for Business and Finance three years in a row.

Paulina Likos

Formerly editor-in-chief of Jim Cramer’s, Janet Guyon spent the bulk of her career at The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, and Bloomberg, where she ran as its general manager.

Brittany Ghiroli

Ghiroli served as an MLB reporter for ten years, where her coverage of the Tampa Bay Rays was featured in the American League Championship Series program. She spent eight game seasons as the Orioles beat reporter before joining The Athletic in November of 2018.

Rachele Kanigel

Rachele Kanigel is a professor and chair of the Journalism Department at San Francisco State University.

Kevin Lerner

Kevin Lerner is a historian of American journalism, Assistant Professor of Communication/Journalism at Marist College, and Editor of the Journal of Magazine Media.

Stephanie Forshee

Stephanie Forshee is a staff reporter for Agenda, a Financial Times publication, where she covers executive compensation and succession planning. She serves as 2nd Vice President for the New York Press Club and is co-author of In Other News: Reporters on Reporting, written with Rosie Downey.

Valerie Bolden-Barrett

Valerie Bolden-Barrett has 20 years of writing experience across a vast number of mediums. She served as Editor of national publications for Simon & Schuster, where she wrote editorial features and articles on innovative business trends.

Barbara Friedberg

Barbara A. Friedberg, MBA, MS is an investment and finance writer who draws from her experience as a former investment portfolio manager and expert investor.

Evan Dammarell

Currently serving as a contributor at Forbes and an editor for SB Nation’s Fear the Sword, Evan has worked with several other publications covering the NBA, such as Hashtag Basketball, ClutchPoints, and FanSided.

Gabrielle Olya

Gabrielle Olya is a lead writer at GOBankingRates, where she covers a variety of financial topics including retirement planning, investing, careers and real estate.

David Ryfe

David Ryfe is Director of and Professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Iowa.

Elizabeth Yuko

Elizabeth Yuko, Ph.D., is a bioethicist and journalist, as well as an adjunct professor of ethics at Fordham University.

Jeffrey Steele

Jeffrey Steele is a freelance journalist with more than 30 years of experience and over 4,000 bylined articles for many publications.

Kristine Gill

Kristine Gill is a recovering newspaper journalist working in media relations for a Florida law enforcement agency. Her journalism experience includes various freelance gigs covering personal finance, home trends and workplace issues for Real Simple, and Fortune.

David Ryfe

Dana Blankenhorn has been a working business journalist since 1978, when he graduated from Northwestern’s Medill School. He has been working as a freelancer since 1983 and covers business and technology.

Casey O’Brien

Casey O’Brien is an award-winning journalist with a focus on justice, equity, and sustainability.

Monica Chin

Her work has appeared in publications including Marketwatch, Mashable, Tom’s Guide, Business Insider, and the New York Post. Currently, she reviews laptops and covers education tech for The Verge.

Joanne Y. Cleaver

She leads strategic communication firm Wilson-Taylor Associates, Inc., which designs and manages content, editorial and research projects for all media and equips clients with media skills and strategic messaging.

Jennifer Billock

Jennifer Billock is an award-winning writer, bestselling author, editor and owner of the boutique editorial firm Jennifer Billock Creative Services.

Jenny Powers

Jenny Powers is a working freelance journalist who spends most days researching fascinating professionals in out-of-the-box careers to find out what their jobs are really like behind the scenes for Business Insider’s Job Diaries column.

Mike De Socio

Mike’s work has been published in Bloomberg, The Guardian, Fortune, The Christian Science Monitor, Apartment Therapy, HuffPost, DigBoston, Bicycling Magazine, and beyond.

Debra Kamin

She is a regular contributor to The New York Times, and her work also frequently appears in The Wall Street Journal, Conde Nast Traveler and other top publications.

Sofia Quaglia

Her work has appeared in The Guardian, National Geographic, Wired, Gizmodo, Grist, Earther, and more, and she regularly contributes to and VeryWell Health.

Pooja Shah

Pooja Shah is an attorney at a global law firm and an award-winning freelance writer based in New York City. She received the 2021 AAN Award for Best Columnist.

Paul Gillin

He was founding editor-in-chief of B2B technology publisher TechTarget, where he grew the editorial staff from two to more than 70 journalists over five years.

Amanda Florian

Her specialties include TikTok, internet culture, and China’s new media scene. Florian’s work has appeared in CNN, NBC, USA Today, The Charlotte Observer, and more.

Kelsey Weekman

Kelsey is a reporter covering digital culture and Gen Z for In The Know by Yahoo. She writes the newsletter OK Zoomer, a weekly dispatch on the intersection of the internet and what the kids are up to these days.

Abrar Al-Heeti

Abrar Al-Heeti is a reporter at CNET covering the intersection of technology and culture, with a particular interest in social media trends, entertainment and pop culture.

Margie Zable Fisher

While she has written on many topics, she specializes in writing about business, health, technology, retirement, lifestyle, and fitness.

Interested in joining the Media Advisory Board?